Advanced search

About Library Databases

Overview

The Princeton Theological Seminary Library purchases subscriptions to many electronic research resources, often called databases.

To search a single database, use the Databases (A-Z) List. (Most of the resources in this list* are restricted to current PTS faculty, staff and students. Authorized users will be prompted to log in.)

To search content from multiple databases at once, use Summon. (What is Summon Search?)

Alumni of Princeton Seminary may request access to a select number of databases purchased on their behalf. Please visit PTS Alumni for details and to log in.

If you are visiting the library in person, please go to Computers and More for information about visitor access to subscription-based e-resources.

Online visitors are encouraged to check out these resources for everyone.

*A number of open access resources are also included in the list.

Shared Access

The Princeton University Library has successfully negotiated shared access for the Seminary community to the following databases. (Login with your PTS email and password)

  1. Humanities Source Ultimate
  2. Sociology Source Ultimate
  3. Twentieth Century Religious Thought: Volume II, Islam
  4. Brill Encyclopedia of Early Christianity Online

The Princeton Theological Seminary Library thanks the Princeton University Library for its ongoing commitment to library collaboration and to shared access where possible.

Search Tips

Looking for a book?

You may prefer to search the online catalog to find books, print journals and other physical library holdings. That said, both print and electronic titles are discoverable in both Summon and the library catalog.

Searching a specific database

To search a single database, use the Databases A-Z List.

Searching specific fields:

  • All: Searches all the fields available
  • Keyword: All Fields (the default)
  • Title: Searches the title field
  • Author: Searches the author field
  • Abstract: Searches the abstract field
  • Subject: Searches the subject field

Boolean searching:

  • Narrow your search using AND to connect separate concepts.
    Example:
    barth AND dogmatics
  • Broaden your search using OR to connect similar terms.
    Example:
    muslim OR moslem
  • Narrow your search using NOT to eliminate separate terms.
    Example:
    barth NOT karl

Searching exact phrases:

Using "quotation marks" around your search term may be effective in some searches.

For advanced searching, it is recommended that you use the "native interface" of a database.

Searching for full text only:

Each database is unique and not all databases provide full-text.

Additional search strategies:

Truncation: Use * to find all words that begin with the same root.
Example: theolog* finds theology, theologian, theological